Click Here to Schedule Your Free Consultation

What are the penalties for DUI in Maryland?

Drunk driving offenses can have very serious consequences in Maryland. When it comes to drunk driving penalties, you may face jail time, fines, and other punishments if you receive a conviction.

It is important for you to understand what you are up against when facing these penalties. In addition to knowing what to expect, this guide can also help determine potential rights violations.

Ignition interlock devices

Ignition interlock devices prevent drivers from operating their vehicles while under the influence of alcohol. Before starting their vehicle, a driver must blow into the device, which will take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reading. If the driver’s BAC breaches the limit of the device, the vehicle will not start, and the driver can face additional penalties.

DUI and DWI convictions

In Maryland, offenses involving driving under the influence (DUI) are more serious than driving while impaired (DWI) offenses. Penalties also vary according to the number of offenses on record. For first DUI offenses, drivers can face up to one year in jail and a fine of no more than $1,000. As for first DWI offenses, penalties include up to two months in jail and a maximum $500 fine. Subsequent offenses incur greater penalties.

Loss of driving privileges

In addition to fines and jail time, motorists can also lose their driving privileges after failing testing (meaning that your BAC is 0.08% or higher). Suspension of driving privileges may also occur if you refuse testing. In this case, the police officer may take your license and suspend privileges at the scene of suspected drunk driving.

If this occurs, you may receive a temporary license good for 45 days. However, it depends on the details of your case.